Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Student-Athlete @ USA

Explanations about what it take to be a student-athlete in the United States. I am currently playing in the Men's tennis team in the Great American Conference, which is a member of the NCAA Div. II.

Beginning of the competition and first road trip with the travel team

Publié le 4 Mars 2017 par Tim in Tennis - printemps 2017

As I wrote in my last post, from now on, all my post will be made in english

 

Academics

Until now, everything is still getting good with my classes. All my homework are done and given back on time and they all are getting good grades. With the beginning of the competition, I will miss some classes during the end of the semester. I hope that those absences are not going to make my grades going down. I will try my best to do so!

Athletics

Last week began the regular season of tennis. After a two wins in which I was not involved (against New Mexico Military and against Texas-Permian Basin) the team played his first home game on tuesday March 28th against Cowley College (junior college). That was for me the first opportunity being here to support the team , help them to fight for the win and to see how was the US mentality during those matches. The level is good without being incredible and the Savage storm won easily the game.

The day after, I was initially not supposed to go to the trip because of my redshirt (which is a little bit complicated, but that basically means that I will not play and travel this year with the team to keep my eligibility for the next season, when my tennis level will be better.) but some trouble with the eligibility of the other substitute player forced me to go to the trip and so to use my eligibility for this season. I had one hour to pack all my tennis stuff and go to the bus stop where our driver, Bryan, was picking us up to begins our journey. During this period of time (wednesday to saturday) we are supposed to drive thrue Dallas, TX, and to stop for the first night in Austin, TX. The thursday we have our first competition, which we won 5-2. During this competition I played as number 8th player. (that means that I played a match which will not being recorded for the final result) which we, as a double team, lost 8-4. As soon as we beat this team, we are going back into the bus and continue to drive south destination San Antonio, TX. There, we will have two competitions on friday, against a ranked top 20 in the Nation's team and against on eof the best JuCo (junior college) of the US.The matches are though and the level is really high. During this two games, I have the opportunity to play one double which we lost 8-5 and one single, which I won 8-0. As I am still playing number 8, my match still does not count toward the final result. But anyway, I see that I have the level to compete if the team need me to play. The matches are tough and the team finally win 5-3. Right after, we are going to an other location in San Antonio, TX where we are playing our second competition of the day. ALl the team is tired of the first game and we can feel it. And at the end, the 5-3 defeat proove that was too ambitious from our coach to schedule that many matches in one day. In addition to it, the team that we face, was really immature and at the end of the competition a general fight was difficult to avoid. We finally left and went back to the hotel. We slept in San Antonio, TX one more night and traveled back the 363 miles (580 kilomètres) on saturday.

Others

During our trip, we had some short free time where we discovered some pretty place such as the domain quarter in Austin, TX or the river walk in San Antonio, Tx. Right under are some pictures of them.

Austin, TX
Austin, TX
Austin, TX
Austin, TX
Austin, TX
Austin, TX
Austin, TX

Austin, TX

San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX

San Antonio, TX

Our University Bus

Our University Bus

Commenter cet article