Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Student-Athlete @ USA

Explanations about what it take to be a student-athlete in the United States. I am currently playing in the Men's tennis team in the Great American Conference, which is a member of the NCAA Div. II.

Travel to Kansas city, beginning of April

Publié le 16 Avril 2017 par Tim in Tennis - printemps 2017

Tennis:

As I already traveled with the team I was not supposed to travel for this the two following trip. But the half of the team, thinking about how unfair it was that I was traveling despite of my btter tennis level as the other player, went to talk to our coach to ask him for me to come. Finally, I will be traveling with the team to Kansas City, MO. Kansas City is about 7 hours drive away north from Durant, right in the border between Kansas and Missouri. We are leaving at 6 in the morning on wednesday and this trip will makes me miss some class. The substitute player, which was supposed to go with the team, did not wake up this morning... but hopefully, I was there and ready to play! In addition of that, the second substitute was injured and ask coach not to warm up, which means that in case of injury I was the only player ready to play. This match in Kansas city, was opposing our team against University Of Nebraska in Kearney. The other team was ranked 29 in the nation, and because of our recent losses this match was kind of a big deal for us. Losing this match will make us loose all our chance to qualify for regionals championship and will kill the last confidence that we had in ourself. After the three doubles, we were losing 2-1 which was not a very good situation. But, after a huge fight, we ended up winning 5-3. That means that we will have some confidence right before playing the conference championship, the next week end. During the conference championship, we will have the chance to win the famous ring of the conference which is key point to have a chance to go to nationals. The drive back, was very long and because we were traveling the day and it was almost impossible to sleep to make the time goes faster.

Right under this post, I will post a few pictures of our travel to Kansas City, MO.

University:

There is only two more weeks left before the finals, which means that most of our grade are already done. No significant changes for mine, everything is doing fine and I hope that I will be able to maintain this level of focus for the last few weeks.

Others:

During this weeks, I made a lot of administrative work to prepare my return in Swithzerland, I gave my freetimes to works for mcdonalds, made sure that it was also good for me to have time to play Interclub with Tennis Club Yverdon, and that I will be able to play at least two tournament before coming back to the USA. I am planning to play one game in Payerne, beginning of July, and right before leaving, playing a tournament in Geneva where I will be able to win a watch with a value more than 2000 CHF. Hopefully, it will be mine! This week, I also change my flight, because we do not have a lot of chance to go to nationals, and if the team is not playing anymore, we have to pay to stay here which is unaffordable for me. I am now planning to come back sunday 7th of May at 6PM in Geneva. Then, I will have one week off, to meet friend and to get rid of jetlag before beginning to work 80% in Mcdonald's. I am working that much, because I only have two months to work, since I am leaving to the USA for a roadtrip with my girlfriend on the 27th of July.

 

the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!
the travel, the city and the hotel!

the travel, the city and the hotel!

Commenter cet article