Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Student-Athlete @ USA

Explanations about what it take to be a student-athlete in the United States. I am currently playing in the Men's tennis team in the Great American Conference, which is a member of the NCAA Div. II.

Next home matches, beginning of the conference games and Last month of the semester

Publié le 8 Avril 2017 par Tim

Tennis:

The team continue to play some matches of the regular season. But the results were still not as expected, so the coach decided to change a few things to make the team goes better. We only played one team with the new composition and that was two days ago, the result were good as our team was up 3-0 after doubles. Tomorrow is the next match and we are looking forward to continue to win in order to keep a good national ranking and to keep our chance to make it to the regionals and to the nationals. The conference matches also began. The conference should be easier for us to win, as our team is slightly better as his opponent. But we should never be too confident, so I will stay rational and we will see what will happen. Winning the conference will bring home the famous "ring" of the champion. I hope that I will be able to post a picture of it in a few weeks! I will keep you updated!

I am still feeling a lot of improvement in my game and I am really happy with it! I also like to play that much tennis! It is all positive for the end of the semester and for my following semster here.

 

University:

During this period of time the most things that happened were in my academic life. In fact, as we just entered the last month of class, I had one week very intense with four essay of about 3 pages to write, regular homework and four tests. Facing this load of work, I did not make it a lot of time to practice this week. But now, the rythmus is normal again and I think that I managed this big week pretty well. My grade are still good and I am confident about the end of the semester! 

Beside my actual class, I also got enroll in my summer class! I took four classes, which will bring me twelve credits hours. The cost should be approximately 2400$ but the school should help me paying a lot. I expect them at least 1000$. But as usual, I will probably have to fight to be helped. Wait and See...I found out that I wan eligible to apply for an international scolarship, which should not bring e a lot of money, but it is still something. I should have the definitive amount that this scolarship will bring me next semester!

Beside that, I also open a bank account to reduce the cost of my payment here. I now have a US debit card that I can use to pay in a lot of shops! 

I am also actively looking for a house around the campus to go and live with some friend of the tennis team! Our goal is to be set up before going back in our home coutry this summer, so, even if we have to pay a small amount of the rent during the summer, we can just be sure that as soon as we will come here in August, we will have our house waiting for us, and that we can leave some stuff here.

Weather:

During those two weeks I also faced my first bad weather. In fact, Oklahoma is the US state the most damaged by tornado. Every year almost fifty of them are crossing the state. The reason to it is pretty simple. The state is located in the so called "Tornado Alley", a specific location in the middle of the United States where four different types of air are meeting each other making the weather very unstable even if the temperature are quiet warm. (for more information : Tornado alley - wiki) However, exactly where I am located we are lucky. In fact, a small lake located a few miles east is shielding us from most bad weather. It means that most of the time the very bad weather are passing a few miles south insted of coming right on us making my place a little bit safer as some others. But this lake does not shield of everything and no later than last wednesday I was stuck in the library because the weather went horrible in about an hour maximum.This warning paper is hanging at our door.

Others:

My girlfriend and I also booked our vacation for this summer. We are planning come in the US during the summer, and to stop a few days in New York before heading to Las Vegas, NV. There we will rent (or use my car if I already bought one) to visit the grand canyon, ocemite, Los Angeles,CA, San Fransisco, CA, and San Diego,CA. Right after that, I will stop in Dallas, TX and prepare myself for my second semester in Durant, OK while she will be heading home.

 

Some pictures related during this period of time
Some pictures related during this period of time
Some pictures related during this period of time
Some pictures related during this period of time
Some pictures related during this period of time
Some pictures related during this period of time
Some pictures related during this period of time

Some pictures related during this period of time

Commenter cet article