Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Student-Athlete @ USA

Explanations about what it take to be a student-athlete in the United States. I am currently playing in the Men's tennis team in the Great American Conference, which is a member of the NCAA Div. II.

Boston or the most eastern city in the US

Publié le 18 Janvier 2018 par Tim in Discover the US

Boston downtown and from the marina
Boston downtown and from the marina

Boston downtown and from the marina

A couple of days before heading back home, I found some cheap tickets to fly to Boston, MA. I stayed at my cousin's house during that time and he showed me the city around. This city looks a lot like Europeans city. In fact, in some places, I even had the impression that I was in England. Some tiny street in the "old town" near the ocean and the marina, or just the way some areas are designed. But, as soon as you go in the downtown direction, then you can see the big building and all the American influence that went on the city.

The first thing I noticed when arriving in this city was the huge number of students. There were students everywhere, from every nationality. The bunch of Universities being located around the city is probably the main reason for that. For example, The Boston University itself has more than 30 000 students.

At some point, we also went to Cambridge, MA to visit the famous Harvard University. I was a little bit disappointed by this University as the main campus looks like Poudlard in a Harry Potter film, it looks creepy.  Then, we went to see the famous MIT campus (Massachusetts Instituts of Technology). Once again, I was disappointed by the campus itself. I was expecting so much more from thus widely known University.

The last days, I walked along the trail of freedom and I visited all the history that goes with this city like the Boston tea party or the first constitution. It was very interesting and it was FREE (so rare in this country). I then took the free boat to go back to the downtown where I walked along the Christmas market and did some shopping.

I then flew back from Boston to Dallas, which is a 4 hours and 15 minutes flight for the last couple of days of my semester. I had to take my finals and get everything ready for my come back in Switzerland the next week.

Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston
Various pictures of Boston

Various pictures of Boston

Commenter cet article